OurFamilyWizard vs AppClose: which suits UK parents?
Both charge each parent. For two homes, OurFamilyWizard Essentials costs £215.98 a year in total and AppClose £197.98. OurFamilyWizard states custom expense splits, document storage, PDF records and ToneMeter. AppClose offers a 60-day trial with no card. Both keep messages that cannot be edited or deleted, and both give professionals access.
Which suits which parents?
- OurFamilyWizard: parents who want tone feedback (ToneMeter), custom expense splits and PDF records, with business-records affidavits on Premium and above.
- AppClose: parents who want a long trial (60 days, no card) and a lower per-parent price.
- Haevn (Our app): parents who want one subscription for both homes plus the wider family calendar, lists and house admin.
OurFamilyWizard vs AppClose, side by side
Key: Yes, No, Partial and Not stated. Not stated means we could not find it, not that it is missing.
| Capability | OurFamilyWizard Co-parenting app, charged per parent Visit site | AppClose Co-parenting app, subscription model from 1 January 2026 Visit site | Haevn Our app Visit site |
|---|---|---|---|
| Who pays | Each parent | Each parent subscribes | One subscription covers both homes |
| Messages cannot be edited or deleted | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Shared expense ledger with custom split | Yes | Not stated | Yes |
| Document storage | Yes | Not stated | Yes |
| Free access for professionals | Yes | Yes | No. Either parent can export a verified record |
| Tone check before sending | Yes, ToneMeter | Not stated | Yes |
| Exportable records | Yes, unlimited PDF records. Business-records affidavits on Premium and above | Not stated | Partial, verified export |
| Free trial | No trial found. 30-day refund instead | Yes, 60-day trial with no card | 14 days free, no card needed |
| Where data is held | Transferred outside the UK, including to the US, under standard safeguards | Hosted in the US on AWS | See the Haevn trust page |
Yes and No are from the provider's own materials. Not stated means we could not find it in their materials on the date checked. It does not mean the feature is missing.
Haevn makes one of the products compared. Corrections to support@haevn.co.uk.
Last checked: 18 October 2026
How much do OurFamilyWizard and AppClose cost for two homes?
| App and plan | Price in GBP |
|---|---|
| OurFamilyWizard Essentials | £9 a month or £107.99 a year per parent. £215.98 a year for both parents. Source |
| OurFamilyWizard Premium | £13 a month or £155.99 a year per parent. Source |
| OurFamilyWizard Max | £18 a month or £215.99 a year per parent. Source |
| AppClose | £8.99 a month or £98.99 a year per parent. £197.98 a year for both parents. A subscription since 1 January 2026. Source |
| Haevn (Our app) | £6.99 a month or £69.99 a year. One subscription covers both parents. 14 days free, no card needed. Source |
Prices checked 18 October 2026. Check each provider's pricing page before subscribing.
For more on who pays with each app, read do both parents pay for a co-parenting app?
Which keeps a better record of messages?
Both keep messages that cannot be edited or deleted after sending. OurFamilyWizard offers unlimited PDF records, with business-records affidavits on Premium and above. Exportable records are not stated for AppClose in the sources we checked. Both give professionals access.
OurFamilyWizard lists real-time communication feedback with ToneMeter on its Basic plan. A tone check is not stated for AppClose.
Which handles shared expenses?
OurFamilyWizard offers a shared expense ledger with a custom split, and document storage. Neither is stated for AppClose in the sources we checked.
Where is your data held?
OurFamilyWizard's privacy policy says data is transferred outside the UK, including to the US, under standard safeguards. AppClose's privacy policy says data is hosted in the US on AWS.
For how Haevn handles your family's data, see the trust page.
Is there a third option that covers both parents?
Haevn (Our app) is £6.99 a month or £69.99 a year, and one subscription covers both parents.
- One subscription for both parents.
- A shared calendar for two homes.
- Shared expenses with any split.
- Messages that cannot be edited or deleted.
- A verified export.
- Custody handover log.
- Tone check before a message is sent.
- Child View, a read-only calendar for children.
Worth knowing
- No native iOS or Android app yet.
- One-click add to Google or Outlook. Two-way sync coming soon.
- No free tier.
- No free access for professionals.
See how it works on Haevn for co-parents, or read our guides to OurFamilyWizard alternatives in the UK and AppClose alternatives in the UK.
What should UK parents look for?
- Whether your co-parent will use it. A shared record only works if both parents are on it.
- Who pays, each parent or one subscription for the family.
- The records your solicitor or mediator says you need.
- Where your data is held.
- How long the trial is, and whether a card is needed.
For the arrangements themselves, see GOV.UK on making child arrangements if you divorce or separate, and Cafcass.
To plan the weeks, try the free co-parenting schedule planner or count nights in each home with the custody time calculator. For every app side by side, see the full UK co-parenting app comparison.
This page is not legal advice. Ask your solicitor or mediator what records they need.
Questions parents ask
Is OurFamilyWizard or AppClose cheaper in the UK?
AppClose is cheaper. AppClose is £8.99 a month or £98.99 a year per parent, and OurFamilyWizard Essentials is £9 a month or £107.99 a year per parent. For two homes that is £197.98 a year against £215.98. Prices checked 18 October 2026.
Do both parents have to pay for OurFamilyWizard and AppClose?
Yes. OurFamilyWizard is charged per parent, and AppClose is per account, with each parent subscribing. Haevn is one subscription that covers both parents.
Does AppClose have a free trial?
Yes. AppClose offers a 60-day trial with no card. We found no trial for OurFamilyWizard, which offers a 30-day refund instead.
Does OurFamilyWizard have a tone check?
Yes. OurFamilyWizard lists real-time communication feedback with ToneMeter on its Basic plan, and higher plans build on it. A tone check is not stated for AppClose in the sources we checked.
Is there a co-parenting app where one subscription covers both parents?
Yes. Haevn is £6.99 a month or £69.99 a year, and one subscription covers both parents. You can try it for 14 days free, no card needed.
Sources
- OurFamilyWizard UK pricing (ourfamilywizard.co.uk)
- OurFamilyWizard subscription plans, real-time communication feedback with ToneMeter on the Basic plan, checked 19 October 2026 (OurFamilyWizard support)
- OurFamilyWizard UK privacy policy, transfers outside the UK (ourfamilywizard.co.uk)
- AppClose pricing and 60-day trial (appclose.com)
- AppClose pricing and subscription model (AppClose support)
- AppClose privacy policy, data hosted in the US on AWS (appclose.com)
- Haevn pricing (haevn.co.uk)
Corrections to support@haevn.co.uk.
One subscription for both homes
£6.99 a month or £69.99 a year covers both parents.
14 days free, no card needed