OurFamilyWizard alternatives in the UK (2026): compared and checked
Yes, there are cheaper alternatives to OurFamilyWizard in the UK. OurFamilyWizard Essentials costs £107.99 a year for each parent, so £215.98 for two homes. Haevn costs £69.99 a year in total and covers both parents. AppClose is £98.99 a year per parent, and 2Houses is charged per family. Prices checked 18 October 2026.
Which OurFamilyWizard alternative suits which family?
- Haevn (Our app): for separated parents who want one subscription for both homes, with meal plans, lists, chores, a household budget and house admin in the same plan.
- OurFamilyWizard: for parents who need free access for professionals, or business-records affidavits, which come with Premium and above.
- AppClose: for parents who want a long trial. AppClose offers 60 days with no card, and professionals can be given access.
- TalkingParents: for parents who want messages that cannot be altered and document storage. Printed records cost extra.
- 2Houses: for families who want one co-parenting subscription per family, with free access for professionals.
How do the alternatives compare?
Yes and No come from each provider's own materials. Not stated means we could not find it on the date checked; it does not mean the feature is missing.
| Capability | Haevn Our app Visit site | OurFamilyWizard Co-parenting app, charged per parent Visit site | AppClose Co-parenting app, subscription model from 1 January 2026 Visit site | TalkingParents Co-parenting app, charged per parent Visit site | 2Houses Co-parenting app, one subscription per family Visit site |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who pays | One subscription covers both homes | Each parent | Each parent subscribes | Each parent | One parent subscribes for the family |
| Messages cannot be edited or deleted | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated |
| Shared expenses with a custom split | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Tone check before a message is sentSource | Yes | Yes, ToneMeter | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Document storage | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Not stated |
| Free access for professionals | No. Either parent can export a verified record instead | Yes | Yes | No third-party professional access | Yes |
| Custody handover log | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Read-only calendar view for children | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Exportable records | Verified export | Unlimited PDF records. Business-records affidavits on Premium and above | Not stated | Printed records cost extra | Not stated |
| Free trial without a card | Yes | No trial found. 30-day refund instead | Yes, 60-day trial with no card | 30-day trial. Card not stated | 14-day trial. Card not stated |
| Calendar, lists, budget and house admin for the wider household | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Yes and No are from the provider's own materials. Not stated means we could not find it in their materials on the date checked. It does not mean the feature is missing.
Haevn makes one of the products compared. Corrections to support@haevn.co.uk.
Last checked 18 October 2026.
For more rows, see the full UK co-parenting app comparison or our guide to co-parenting apps in the UK.
What does each app cost for two homes?
| App | Price in GBP |
|---|---|
| Haevn | £6.99 a month or £69.99 a year, covers both parents. 14 days free, no card needed. Source |
| OurFamilyWizard | Per parent. Essentials £9 a month or £107.99 a year; Premium £13 or £155.99; Max £18 or £215.99. Two parents on Essentials: £215.98 a year. Source |
| AppClose | Per account, each parent subscribes. £8.99 a month or £98.99 a year (UK App Store). Two parents: £197.98 a year. Source |
| TalkingParents | Per parent. Essentials £9, Enhanced £19, Ultimate £39 a month (UK App Store). No free tier since 30 March 2026. Source |
| 2Houses | Per family, one parent subscribes. The UK App Store shows several prices, including £24.99 a month and £149.00 a year, so check the price in the app. Source |
Prices change, so check each provider's own page before you subscribe. See Haevn pricing.
Haevn (Our app)
Where it is strong
- One subscription for both parents.
- A shared calendar for two homes.
- Shared expenses with any split.
- Messages that cannot be edited or deleted.
- A verified export.
- Custody handover log.
- Tone check before a message is sent.
- Child View, a read-only calendar for children.
- The rest of family life in the same plan, for up to 8 people.
Worth knowing
- No free tier.
- No native iOS or Android app yet.
- No free access for professionals, though either parent can export a verified record.
- One-click add to Google or Outlook. Two-way sync coming soon.
- Quiet Hours is coming soon.
- Newer to market than the specialists.
See how it works for separated families on Haevn for co-parents.
OurFamilyWizard
Where it is strong
- Messages cannot be edited or deleted.
- Custom expense splits.
- Document storage.
- Unlimited PDF records.
- Business-records affidavits on Premium and above.
- Free access for professionals.
- ToneMeter.
Worth knowing
- Charged per parent, at the prices above.
- We found no free trial. There is a 30-day refund instead.
- Its privacy policy says data is transferred outside the UK, including to the US, under standard safeguards.
- It has owned Cozi since 2022.
AppClose
Where it is strong
- A 60-day trial with no card.
- Records cannot be altered.
- Professionals can be given access.
Worth knowing
- A paid subscription since 1 January 2026, and each parent subscribes.
- Its privacy policy says data is hosted in the US on AWS.
TalkingParents
Where it is strong
- Messages cannot be altered.
- Calendar and document storage.
- A 30-day trial.
Worth knowing
- Charged per parent.
- No free tier since 30 March 2026.
- Printed records cost extra.
- No third-party professional access.
2Houses
Where it is strong
- One subscription per family.
- Free access for professionals.
- A 14-day trial.
Worth knowing
- Several prices on the UK App Store, so check in the app.
Is there a free alternative to OurFamilyWizard?
AppClose has been paid since 1 January 2026, and TalkingParents has had no free tier since 30 March 2026. At least one newer app still has a free tier with messaging and a shared calendar, with limits. Haevn has no free tier. It is £69.99 a year for both parents, with 14 days free and no card needed.
Read more about free co-parenting apps.
What should UK parents look for in a co-parenting app?
- Who pays, per parent or per family.
- Whether your co-parent will actually use it.
- What records you need, so ask your solicitor or mediator before choosing.
- Whether children can see their own calendar without seeing messages or money.
- Whether you also want the household admin for each home.
For the arrangements themselves, GOV.UK explains how to make a child arrangements plan, and Cafcass has a free Our Child's Plan template.
To plan the weeks, try the free co-parenting schedule planner or work out nights in each home with the custody time calculator.
This page compares apps. It is not legal advice.
Questions parents ask
Is there a cheaper alternative to OurFamilyWizard in the UK?
Yes. OurFamilyWizard Essentials is £107.99 a year for each parent, so £215.98 for two homes. Haevn is £69.99 a year in total and covers both parents. AppClose is £98.99 a year per parent. Prices checked 18 October 2026.
Do both parents have to pay for OurFamilyWizard?
Yes. OurFamilyWizard is charged per parent. Haevn is one subscription for the family, so £6.99 a month or £69.99 a year covers both parents.
Does Haevn have a tone check like OurFamilyWizard's ToneMeter?
Yes. Haevn checks the tone of a message before it is sent. OurFamilyWizard's help pages list ToneMeter on its plans.
Is there a free alternative to OurFamilyWizard?
AppClose and TalkingParents are no longer free. At least one newer app has a free tier with limits. Haevn has no free tier, but you can try it for 14 days free, no card needed.
Can a solicitor or mediator see our Haevn records?
Haevn doesn't offer free access for professionals. Either parent can export a verified record and share it with a solicitor or mediator. OurFamilyWizard, AppClose and 2Houses offer access for professionals.
Sources
- OurFamilyWizard UK pricing (ourfamilywizard.co.uk)
- OurFamilyWizard subscription plans, real-time communication feedback with ToneMeter on the Basic plan, checked 19 October 2026 (OurFamilyWizard support)
- TalkingParents pricing, no free tier since 30 March 2026 (talkingparents.com)
- AppClose pricing and 60-day trial (appclose.com)
- OurFamilyWizard UK privacy policy, transfers outside the UK (ourfamilywizard.co.uk)
- TalkingParents pricing and plans, printed records (TalkingParents support)
- AppClose pricing and subscription model (AppClose support)
- AppClose privacy policy, data hosted in the US on AWS (appclose.com)
- 2Houses pricing (2houses.com)
- OurFamilyWizard acquisition of Cozi, announced 4 May 2022 (GeekWire)
- Haevn pricing (haevn.co.uk)
- Make a child arrangements plan (GOV.UK)
- Our Child's Plan (Cafcass)
Corrections to support@haevn.co.uk.
One subscription for both homes
£6.99 a month or £69.99 a year covers both parents.
Start 14 days free, no card needed